History 4/23/23

Troop 200 has been Scouting for over 25 years!

Our Troop was founded in 1982 by Cliff Peeno and chartered by Olde Sawmill Elementary School in Dublin, Ohio.  In the ensuing 28 years, we have had 10 scoutmasters and have met at seven locations.  Over the early years the troop stayed relatively small (< 20 active scouts) and almost disbanded at one point in the mid 80’s.  Extra efforts by some dedicated leaders back then saved the troop and it moved to different locations with dedicated leaders. Then in the mid-to-late 90’s the expanded activity programs put together by John Barca, Kirk Riley and enhanced by Matt Frye in 2005 started to attract more and more youth from area Packs; and today we are a very busy unit with consistently 80-100 Scouts registered at any one time.

In addition to providing our youth a solid program, our troop also seems to be a breeding ground for BSA leaders as well.  All troop parents and area adult Scouters (men and women) are welcome to join our troop as either Committee Members or Assistant Scoutmasters (latter with agreement to participate in regional BSA training opportunities).  A number of our adult leaders have risen to prominence in the local Buckeye District.  If you attend many District or Council events, you’ll likely run into current and past Troop 200 leaders like: Jim Jaeger, Jeff McDonald, Kirk Riley, Matt Frye, Mark Brusadin, Drew McCartt, Kate Leaver, and others.

Troop 200 Scoutmasters:

  • Cliff Peeno, 1982-1984
  • Mark Coleman, 1984-1985
  • Bill Patton, 1985-1988 (‘rescued’ Troop 200)
  • Steve Laraway, 1989-1990
  • Dave Blaugrund, 1990-1996
  • John Barca, 1996-2000
  • Kirk Riley, 2000-2005
  • Matt Frye, 2005-2008
  • Mark Locker, 2008-2011
  • John Pirt, 2011-present

Troop Meeting Locations
(& charter organization):

  • Olde Sawmill Elementary School, 1982-1985
  • Fellowship Lutheran Church, 1985-1988
  • Prince of Peace Lutheran Church, 1988-1992
  • Wyandot Elementary School, 1992-1994
  • Scottish Corners Elementary School 1994-1996
  • St. Patrick Episcopal Church, 1996-2000
  • NW United Methodist Church, 2000-present

Many thanks to Jack Marmion and Dave Blaugrund for contributing information and especially to Asst. SM. Steve Cianca for researching and collecting this data.


We are Troop 200